Finnish Rally Championship (23-25 September): WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS!26/09/2016 - 14:25

Finnish Rally Championship 26 september 2016


Our Peugeot 208T16 R5 crew Juha Salo – Marko Salminen confirmed their second Finnish Rally Championship (FRC) title in row for Peugeot in a best possible way: by clearly winning the final round Pirelli Rally in Tampere. This title was also 10th Finnish Championship title for Juha Salo and as well 10th title for Peugeot in the legendary history of FRC –series.


Pirelli-rally was driven on fast, jumpy and twisting gravel roads, very well known from previous 1000 Lakes Rallies from the Gr B era. Juha Salo took the lead of the rally on 3rd stage and on the second part of two day event he only controlled his lead not letting the fastest rivals to get too close.

I´m very , very happy to been able to bring this title to Peugeot second year in a row. But me, my team and our blue Lion we all are very hungry for more success on coming years. Kyösti Hämäläinen has 12 titles in FRC,  and my personal target to make better, Salo says.

The new evolution parts together with latest Öhlins suspension update, which we tested in Finland on the week of the rally, has made our 208T16 R5 much faster. Difference on equal conditions in the famous Savo stage was 0,6 sec / km compare to last year.  Also the new engine up-grade is working well: actually I was just laughing on the second stage when we hit the rev limiter on 5th gear and fly with the GPS-speed of 197 km/h over jumps. It just felt so fun and cool to drive, he says.

I want to thank all our contacts in Peugeot Sport, Öhlins Norden, Oral Egineering, Peugeot Sport Finland/ Auto-Kehä , Michelin Nordic and Maan Auto for their great support and assistance. Without this fantastic rally family with such a big passion for success, it would not been possible to take the title second time in a row. I´m so proud to be member of continuous success story of Peugeot in our rally championship. Technical development team in Peugeot Sport has made great progress with new Evolution kit. I want also specially thank Luca Chinni at Oral Engineering for their great help and flexibility with our engine re-building after Finland Rally, Salo says.

Podium 10


In the 2WD championship it was clear success to two Peugeot 208R2 drivers. More experienced Anssi Rytkönen took the title just in front of only 19-years old Juuso Nordgren. Nordgren was all season in speed in his own class, but more experienced Rytkönen avoid mistakes and took the title in the end. Third in the series was former British Open Rallychampion Jukka Korhonen (Ford).

Juuso Nordgren Tampere

Juha Salo´s championship titles:

1996 (Junior Champion) 2002, 2004, 2005, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016.
2nd in championship: 1998, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2012.
3rd in championship 2006, 2014.
Chinese Rally Champion 2007.

Peugeot titles in FRC:

1959 Esko Keinänen Peugeot 403 (first year of FRC)
1988 Sampsa Junnila Peugeot 205 GTI 1900
2000 Sebastian Lindholm Peugeot 206 WRC
2002 Sebastian Lindholm Peugeot 206 WRC
2003 Sebastian Lindholm Peugeot 206 WRC
2004 Sebastian Lindholm Peugeot 206 WRC
2005 Kosti Katajamäki Peugeot 206 WRC
2006 Sebastian Lindholm Peugeot 206 WRC
2015 Juha Salo Peugeot 208 T16 R5
2016 Juha Salo Peugeot 208 T16 R5


You may also like

By continuing your visit to this site , you accept the use of cookies to deliver content and services tailored to your interests. Read more X