Rallycross – PEUGEOT 208 WRX driver Timmy Hansen ends World Rallycross Championship as the 2015 vice-champion29/11/2015 - 23:37

Rosario 2015 28-29 november 2015

Team Peugeot Hansen had been hoping to celebrate it recent 2015 world title with victory another in Argentina. Despite what turned out to be something of a chaotic weekend, unworthy of an FIA world championship fixture, the team rounded off its glittering campaign with Timmy Hansen claiming runner-up honours.

After winning two of the three qualifying heats and the second semi-final, Timmy Hansen got away to a perfect start in the final in Rosario and a sixth win to conclude Team Peugeot Hansen’s season seemed a realistic possibility. However, some shoving by a driver who had got away less well forced the 208 WRX off its line, causing Timmy to fall down the order. While he was doing his utmost to make up lost ground, the Swede’s race ended on Lap 4. Even so, the frustrating conclusion to the year didn’t prevent him from finishing second in the 2015 World Rallycross Championship for Drivers behind back-to-back title winner Petter Solberg, a remarkable ascension for the Team Peugeot Hansen youngster who came fourth in last year’s championship.

AUTOMOBILE: ARGENTINA - ROSARIO - WRX - 27/11/2015 TO 29/11/2015

Meanwhile, after showing real promise from the start of the season, the PEUGEOT 208 WRX emerged as the car to beat from the fifth round at Estering, Germany, onwards. In total, the Franco-Swedish outfit’s Timmy Hansen and Davy Jeanney notched up five wins and 11 podium finishes to clinch the Teams’ title for Team Peugeot Hansen at the year’s penultimate clash at Franciacorta, Italy.

2014: 4th, Teams’ championship / 4th, Drivers’ championship
2015: 1st, Teams’ championship / 2nd, Drivers’ championship
Roll on the 2016 WorldRX 2016!

AUTOMOBILE: ARGENTINA - ROSARIO - WRX - 27/11/2015 TO 29/11/2015

Kenneth Hansen (Team Principal)
At the start of the year, our aim was to win the Teams’ title. During the early part of the season, it took a little time for us to find our marks but we found our legs after the first four rounds. This weekend, we were really motivated and ready to pounce on even the tiniest opportunity to clinch the Drivers’ title. Indeed, we got both cars into the semi-finals and Timmy was in perfect control. He ended up being pushed out of contention, however. Obviously, we weren’t happy but he did his best to fight back before spinning. We are still very pleased with our performance in Argentina, though. We have a solid base from which to improve next season and we have every intention of hitting the ground running in 2016.

Timmy Hansen, N°21 PEUGEOT 208 WRX
Once again, the Peugeot 208 WRX was fantastic to drive. This weekend, it was so easy, so responsive, so quick… I think it was clear that we were the fastest in Rosario. I had a great fight in my semi-final which I won. Unfortunately, they sprayed the track with water before the final when I was pushed a number of times and I ended up failing to finish. I’m disappointed not to have been able to challenge for another win but I still made sure of this year’s silver medal in the Drivers’ championship. I’m delighted! We were too far back to stand a real chance of catching Petter.

Davy Jeanney, N°17 PEUGEOT 208 WRX
I felt the car had potential from the start of the season but it took three or four races for everything to slot into place. After that, we found a good set-up which enabled us to put in a sequence of strong results, including two wins for me, in Germany and Canada, and a one-two finish in Norway. The last part of the season was a little tougher as far as I was concerned. We scored points at every round, though, and that helped us to clinch the Teams’ title, which wasn’t a bad way to wrap up my first season with Team Peugeot Hansen.


Round 13 (Rosario, Argentina, November 28-29, 2015) – final positions:
1.    Robin Larsson (Audi S1)
2.    Mattias Ekström (EKS, Audi S1)
3.    Petter Solberg (SDRX, Citroën DS3)
4.    Janis Baumanis (World RX Team Austria, Ford Fiesta)
5.    Kevin Hansen (OlsbergMSE AB, Ford Fiesta ST)
6.    Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX)

2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship – standings after 13 rounds
1.    Petter Solberg (SDRX, Citroën DS3), 301 pts
2.    Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 275 pts
3.    Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen Team Sweden, Volkswagen Polo), 234 pts
4.    Andreas Bakkerud (OlsbergMSE AB, Ford Fiesta ST), 232 pts
5.    Davy Jeanney (Team Peugeot Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 201 pts
5.    Mattias Ekström (EKS, Audi S1), 201 pts
6.    Reinis Nitiss (OlsbergMSE AB Ford Fiesta ST), 167 pts

1. Team Peugeot-Hansen, 476 pts
2. Ford Olsbergs MSE, 399 pts
3. SDRX, 336 pts

You may also like

By continuing your visit to this site , you accept the use of cookies to deliver content and services tailored to your interests. Read more X