Rallycross: Team Peugeot Hansen makes sure of the 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship* Teams’ title!18/10/2015 - 20:08

Franciacorta 2015 17-18 october 2015

With a score of five victories to its name this season with the PEUGEOT 208 WRX, Team Peugeot Hansen wrapped up the 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship for Teams today at Franciacorta, Italy, home of the competition’s 12th round.

_a_U0K7621 copie 2

The fight for the title was wrapped up in advance of today’s final when Team Peugeot Hansen harvested the few points it needed to convert its comfortable 79-point cushion prior to the trip to Italy into the 2015 Teams’ crown.

Despite a somewhat chaotic run this weekend which failed to see them reach the final, Timmy Hansen and Davy Jeanney clocked up the points that Team Peugeot Hansen needed to go sufficiently clear at the top of the table ahead of the last round of the season in Rosario, Argentina, on November 28-29. Thanks to a tally of five victories and 11 podium finishes, the team took advantage of the progress it has achieved since it was formed at the beginning of 2014 to reap the ultimate reward at Franciacorta.

_a_E6P9897 copie 2

The Italian weekend also saw Peugeot Red Bull Hansen Junior Team’s Kevin Hansen clinch the RXLites title which stars rallycross’s most promising youngsters.

_a_2015RXItaly094 copie 2

Kenneth Hansen, Team Principal:

“It’s a fantastic feeling to have won the title. We have functioned so well as a team this year, especially our two drivers, and today’s success is the fruit of that effort. I really feel we are the strongest team, and that’s because we have been working together all in the same direction. This project got off to a tardy start last year and we fought very hard to become competitive. This season, we were better prepared. To begin with, we didn’t score as many points as we had hoped but we soon showed the other teams that they would have to reckon with us. Timmy and Davy proved as much by winning five rounds.”


Timmy Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX #21 (6th, second semi-final)

“It’s fantastic: we are the champions of the world! The team thoroughly deserved to win the title; they are the best. Unfortunately, things didn’t go so well for me today. We were strong in terms of top speed but we were slow off the line. In the semi-final, I found myself door-to-door with another driver who pushed me into the wall. That put an end to my day and my chances of winning the Drivers’ title now look very slim.”


Davy Jeanney, PEUGEOT 208 WRX #17 (6th, first semi-final)

“I’m a little disappointed with the way the weekend unfolded but that’s nothing compared with the joy of winning the championship. This title speaks volumes for the strength of our team. We will be sure to celebrate in style!”



* Subject to the publication of the official results by the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile)



Final positions - Round 12 (Italy - Franciacorta) – October, 17-18 2015

  1. Andreas Bakkerud (OlsbergMSE AB, Ford Fiesta ST)
  2. Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen Team Sweden, Volkswagen Polo)
  3. Petter Solberg (SDRX, Citroën DS3)
  4. Anton Marklund (EKSRX, Audi S1)
  5. Manfred Stohl Team Austria, Ford Fiesta)
  6. Timu Timerzyanov (OlsbergMSE AB, Ford Fiesta ST)

 FIA World Rallycross Championship standings after 12 rounds


  1. Petter Solberg (SDRX, Citroën DS3), 279 pts
  2. Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 253 pts
  3. Johan Kristoffersson (Volkswagen Team Sweden, Volkswagen Polo), 228 pts
  4. Andreas Bakkerud (OlsbergMSE AB, Ford Fiesta ST), 215 pts
  5. Davy Jeanney (Team Peugeot Hansen, PEUGEOT 208 WRX), 189 pts
  6. Mattias Ekström (EKS, Audi S1), 179 pts
  7. Reinis Nitiss (OlsbergMSE AB Ford Fiesta ST), 164 pts
  8. Toomas Heikkinen, (Marklund Motorsport, Volkswagen Polo), 128 pts



  1. Team Peugeot-Hansen, 442 pts
  2. Ford Olsbergs MSE, 379 pts
  3. SDRX, 312 pts

You may also like

By continuing your visit to this site , you accept the use of cookies to deliver content and services tailored to your interests. Read more X