Second double victory in row for Peugeot in FRC29/02/2016 - 09:06

Finnish Rally Championship 26 september 2016


The second Finnish Rally Championship event of the 2016 season Vaakuna Rally took place in Mikkeli with well known visitors from World Rally Championship; Jari Ketomaa (WRC2) and Ole-Christian Veiby (WRC3 and WRC2). The event was 50th Anniversary and new  “celebration route” was using the old famous stages from WRC Rally Finland – fast, but all time turning roads with high jumps. Due to the WRC format those stages are not anymore included into WRC Finland lay-out.



Juha Salo took his 2nd overall victory in row in this  seasons FRC season. This victory was also the first anniversary for Peugeot Sport in Finland – Salo started his R5 campaign with 208 T16 just one year ago from Mikkeli, also with a clear win. This was best ever drive with 208T16 R5 for me, so far. We have now find almost perfect suspension settings and together with my new more informative pace-note system I was able to use the cars potential much better. But there is still  potential left in my Lion to use. Just two stages before the end I started to slow down and young Ole-Christian Veiby made a unexpected attack, so he get a little too close in the end. Anyway after two wins the pressure in the championship is on our competitors shoulders, says the 9th Finnish Championship Juha Salo.

Nordgren Mikkeli low res PSP


Maiden win for just 19 years old Juuso Nordgren in the Finnish Rally Championship. Ruling Finnish Junior Rally Champion controlled the 2WD category right from the start by winning 7 out of 8 stages. This was a perfect event to us. We made an attack on second days two first stages and then I was just an matter to control the lead and not let our rivals, like the 2013 British Rally Champion Jukka Korhonen, too close to us. From here it´s nice to continue towards the 3rd FRC event in Kuopio after two weeks, says the Young Lion of Peugeot Sport Finland.


1) Juha Salo Peugeot 208T16 R5 57.14,0
2) Ole Christian Veiby + 2,3; Skoda Fabia R5
3) Ari Vihavainen + 40,7; Mitsubishi WRC
4) Mikko Eskelinen + 2.30,2; Mitsubishi WRC
5) Ville Ruokanen + 3.21,7; Mitsubishi Evo X

1) Juuso Nordgren 1.02.45,9; Peugeot 208R2
2) Jukka Korhonen + 42,9;  Ford Fiesta R2
3) Anssi Rytkönen + 1.00,3; Peugeot 208R2
4) Pyry Ovaska + 1.32,7; Citroën C2R2
5) Taisko Lario + 1.44,2; Peugeot 208R2

You may also like

By continuing your visit to this site , you accept the use of cookies to deliver content and services tailored to your interests. Read more X