Team Peugeot-Hansen claim first World Rallycross podium13/07/2014 - 19:16

Mettet 2014 12-13 july 2014
Swedish driver Timmy Hansen finished second in the sixth round of the FIA World Rallycross Championship at Mettet in Belgium, scoring the first podium for Team Peugeot-Hansen 208WRX Supercar. Developed by the experienced Hansen squad, the 208 has consistently proven front running pace over the first five events of the season but bad luck had previously prevented a top result until Mettet, where Hansen set fastest lap times in heats two, three and four before finishing third in his semi-final and second in the final. Team mate Timur Timerzyanov also made it to the semi-final and only just missed out on a place in the final, he finished fourth in semi-final two. The team are now comfortably third in the World Championship standings. Timmy Hansen: “The whole team has worked so hard for this result, it means so much to us.” Former single seater driver Timmy Hansen had some frustrating heat races in Belgium, and it wasn’t until the young Swede got a clean run in heat four that he was able to show is hand, he set fastest heat time by over 2.5 seconds from his nearest rival. Hansen pushed as hard as he could through both the semi-final and final to finish on the podium for the first time in 2014.
“This result has been a long time coming, we have been quick all year and it’s just so great to be on the podium, I’m so happy. The whole team has worked so hard for this result, it means so much to them. I had a tough time this weekend, I started on the outside in every race I did, but the car was really fast. In the semi-final I pushed so, so hard to get to the final, but to get on the podium from sixth on the grid in the final is fantastic. I didn’t make a very good start, but we just didn’t give up, the car was so good and really fast all weekend.” Timur Timerzyanov: “Congratulations to my team mate today, he did a good job.”
Like Hansen, double European Rallycross Champion Timur Timerzyanov had a bad run of luck through the heats, never getting a clear run that would enable him to set the heat times his lap times showed he was capable of.
“I didn’t get a clean run in any of my heat races, then in the semi-final we were stuck on the outside at the first corner so I lost position and couldn’t get back to third to make it to the final. I made a few mistakes, but congratulations to my team mate today, he did a good job.”
Kenneth Hansen: “The second place feels so good. Timmy just didn’t give up in the final.” Team Peugeot-Hansen principle Kenneth Hansen is delighted by the first podium finish for the new Peugeot 208, good reward for the hard work of his experienced team with a brand new car in 2014. The Swede believes that a podium for Timerzyanov is also just around the corner.
“We have been in the final before but now finally we have got to the podium. The second place feels so good. Timmy just didn’t give up in the final, he just fought and fought and fought. He had some bad luck in the third heat when he spun with a plastic barrier under the car, so he lost some places there, but we had a good weekend with the pace of both cars. Timur had some bad luck in the first corner in the semi-final, he made some mistakes too, but that’s very easy to do when you are pushing to the limit like these guys are. I’m sure he will score a podium soon as well.”
The World Rallycross Championship now heads to the first ever event outside Europe, where Team Peugeot-Hansen will be back in action at Trois-Rivieres, Canada (7th - 8th August). FIA World Rallycross Championship round six, Belgium: Final Result 1 Toomas Heikkinen (Marklund Motorsport, VW Polo) 2 Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot-Hansen, Peugeot 208) 3 Johan Kristoffersson (Kristoffersson Motorsport, VW Polo) 4 Petter Solberg (PSRX, Citroen DS3) 5 Anton Marklund (Marklund Motorsport, VW Polo) 6 Pontus Tidemand (EKS RX, Audi S1) FIA World Rallycross Championship Drivers standings (after round 6 / 12): 1 Petter Solberg (PSRX, Citroen DS3), 125 points 2 Reinis Nitiss (OlsbergsMSE, Ford Fiesta), 122 points 3 Toomas Heikkinen (Marklund Motorsport, VW Polo), 117 points 4 Andreas Bakkerud (OlsbergsMSE, Ford Fiesta), 99 points 5 Anton Marklund (Marklund Motorsport, VW Polo), 85 points 6 Timmy Hansen (Team Peugeot-Hansen, Peugeot 208), 78 points 7 Timur Timerzyanov (Team Peugeot-Hansen, Peugeot 208), 76 points FIA World Rallycross Championship Teams standings (after round 6 / 12): 1 OlsbergsMSE/Ford, 221 points 2 Marklund Motorsport/Volkswagen, 202 points 3 Team Peugeot-Hansen, 154 points 4 PSRX, 139 points 5 Monster Energy World RX Team, 60 points 6 Albatec Racing, 16 points

You may also like

By continuing your visit to this site , you accept the use of cookies to deliver content and services tailored to your interests. Read more X